Our Department

Columbus Fire Rescue has 50 volunteers and support personnel with 6 full-time career staff members. 4 of these staff positions are fully funded by Federal SAFER ACT Grants through May 2015.

Chief and Staff

Rich Cowger Chief

Chief Cowger started his fire service career as a volunteer with the Fromberg Fire District (MT) in 1992. After being away from the fire service for a year he returned joining the Town of Columbus and Columbus Rural Fire District in 1993. He progressed through the ranks of the departments becoming a captain in 1995, Asst. Chief of the Rural Fire District in 1996, Chief of the Town of Columbus in 1999 and Chief of the Rural Fire District in 2000. Chief Cowger was instrumental in getting a joint Town/Rural Fire Station built in 2002.

Chief Cowger was hired as the Fire Department/Districts first full time employee on Jan 1, 2008. That same year Chief Cowger helped negotiate a consolidation agreement between Columbus Ambulance and the Rural Fire District bringing the only fire-based EMS service to the area. In 2009 Chief Cowger was instrumental in getting an inter-local agreement signed between the Town of Columbus and the Rural Fire District allowing the Rural Fire District to provide administration of the fire service for the Town and District.

Chief Cowger currently serves as the Chair of the Stillwater County Fire Council, a deputy Stillwater County Fire Warden, and Chairman of the Montana State Fire Chiefs Association (6 years). He also sits on the State Wildland committee, Eastern Montana Zone Board, and the International Association of Fire Chiefs Wildland Fire Policy Committee. Chief Cowger is also NWCG red carded as a structure protection specialist, division supervisor and type 3 IC trainee and serves with a national type 2 incident management team.

In his spare time Chief Cowger likes to ranch, break horses, fly and camp with his wife, son and daughter.

Chief Cowger can be reached at 406-322-4302 or at rcowger@columbusfirerescue.com


Other Important Staff Members

Columbus Fire Rescue relies on the commitment of integral staff positions.  Six full time Career Staff member support the volunteers of the organization: 3 Advanced EMT’s and 3 Paramedics.

 Nick Jacobs- Assistant Chief &  EMS Coordinator

Dayle Flynn- Training Officer

Travis Hansen- Volunteer Coordinator



The capacity of the Columbus Fire Rescue staff depends on an outstanding crew of skilled and committed volunteers.

Columbus Fire Rescue Crews:

A Shift:                                B Shift:                               C Shift:                             D Shift:                             Reed Point St 2:

Capt. Jeff Limburg              Capt.                                   Capt. Tom Tymon           Capt. Jacob Ward             Capt. Terry Brumfield

Lt.                                          Lt                                         Lt. Eric Stevens                Lt.                                       Lt.

Kevin Langhus                    Courtney Hall                     Lee Westervelt                Whitney Jacobs                Jim Trees

Ole Hedstrom                     Nick Ankeny                        Josh Boyce                       Yvonne Stevens              Kate Trees

Randy Smith                        Brynn Nave                        Colby Dennard                 Cactus Anderson           Bill Mayo

Shannon Browning            Cody Sweeney                    Jeff Obert                          Jacob Ellis                        Gary Morton

Shane Warehime                Riaz Karamzadeh               Ben Reed                          Todd Metzler                   Angie Morton

Christian Emter                   Dan Cramer                        Carson Pollington            Phil Nave                         Cody Brumfield

Scott Olson                          Chris Laukant                      Richard Ruiz                     Taylor Flynn                    Barry Bittle

John Marjerison                   Madisyn Sheppard                                                        Ryan Heminger

Colton Cowger


Learn more and become a part of this highly skilled team.